MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#41
Chris Sale
ERA W-L K
2.74 6-4 140
Team: BostonHt / Wt: 6-6 / 178
Position: SPBorn: 3/30/1989 Birthplace: Lakeland, Florida
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: 1st Round by White Sox (2010)


Latest News
June 19 8:27 PM PT9:27 PM MT10:27 PM CT11:27 PM ET23:27 ET3:27 GMT11:27 8:27 PM MST10:27 PM EST9:27 PM CST10:57 PM VEN7:27 UAE (+1)10:27 PM CT-Chris Sale allowed two runs on three hits and one walk in 7.0 innings as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Minnesota Twins 6-2 on Tuesday. Sale struck out 11, ending the game with a 2.74 ERA and 0.94 WHIP on the season.
June 13 3:30 PM PT4:30 PM MT5:30 PM CT6:30 PM ET18:30 ET22:30 GMT6:30 3:30 PM MST5:30 PM EST4:30 PM CST6:00 PM VEN2:30 UAE (+1)5:30 PM CT-Chris Sale improved to 6-4, allowing one run on two hits and four walks in 6.0 innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Baltimore Orioles 5-1 on Wednesday. Sale struck out nine, ending the game with a 2.75 ERA and 0.97 WHIP on the season.
June 8 6:39 PM PT7:39 PM MT8:39 PM CT9:39 PM ET21:39 ET1:39 GMT9:39 6:39 PM MST8:39 PM EST7:39 PM CST9:09 PM VEN5:39 UAE (+1)8:39 PM CT-Chris Sale fell to 5-4, allowing one run on six hits and one walk in 8.0 innings, as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Chicago White Sox 1-0 on Friday. Sale struck out 10, ending the game with a 2.83 ERA and 0.97 WHIP on the season.
June 1 8:09 PM PT9:09 PM MT10:09 PM CT11:09 PM ET23:09 ET3:09 GMT11:09 8:09 PM MST10:09 PM EST9:09 PM CST10:39 PM VEN7:09 UAE (+1)10:09 PM CT-Chris Sale fell to 5-3, allowing four runs on six hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Houston Astros 7-3 on Friday. Sale struck out six, ending the game with a 3.00 ERA and 0.98 WHIP on the season.
May 27 1:05 PM PT2:05 PM MT3:05 PM CT4:05 PM ET16:05 ET20:05 GMT4:05 1:05 PM MST3:05 PM EST2:05 PM CST3:35 PM VEN0:05 UAE (+1)3:05 PM CT-Chris Sale fell to 5-2, allowing six runs on five hits and three walks in 4.1 innings, as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Atlanta Braves 7-1 on Sunday. Sale struck out eight, ending the game with a 2.76 ERA and 0.96 WHIP on the season.
May 22 7:08 PM PT8:08 PM MT9:08 PM CT10:08 PM ET22:08 ET2:08 GMT10:08 7:08 PM MST9:08 PM EST8:08 PM CST9:38 PM VEN6:08 UAE (+1)9:08 PM CT-Chris Sale improved to 5-1, allowing two runs - one earned - on four hits and two walks in 7.2 innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 4-2 on Tuesday. Sale struck out nine, ending the game with a 2.17 ERA and 0.91 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: He has allowed three runs or fewer in his first 11 starts, the longest stretch by a Boston pitcher to open a season since Pedro Martinez's 12 in 2001.
May 16 7:23 PM PT8:23 PM MT9:23 PM CT10:23 PM ET22:23 ET2:23 GMT10:23 7:23 PM MST9:23 PM EST8:23 PM CST9:53 PM VEN6:23 UAE (+1)9:23 PM CT-Chris Sale improved to 4-1, allowing two runs on two hits and four walks in 5.0 innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Oakland Athletics 6-4 on Wednesday. Sale struck out nine, ending the game with a 2.29 ERA and 0.92 WHIP on the season.
May 11 8:05 PM PT9:05 PM MT10:05 PM CT11:05 PM ET23:05 ET3:05 GMT11:05 8:05 PM MST10:05 PM EST9:05 PM CST10:35 PM VEN7:05 UAE (+1)10:05 PM CT-Chris Sale allowed three runs on six hits in 9.0 innings as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 5-3 on Friday. Sale struck out 15, ending the game with a 2.17 ERA and 0.90 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: The left-hander is the third pitcher in Red Sox history to strike out 15 while walking none. Pedro Martinez had four such games while Roger Clemens had three. Sale struck out six straight batters over the fourth and fifth innings, getting all six swinging.
May 6 2:46 PM PT3:46 PM MT4:46 PM CT5:46 PM ET17:46 ET21:46 GMT5:46 2:46 PM MST4:46 PM EST3:46 PM CST5:16 PM VEN1:46 UAE (+1)4:46 PM CT-Chris Sale improved to 3-1, allowing one run on four hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Texas Rangers 6-1 on Sunday. Sale struck out 12, ending the game with a 2.02 ERA and 0.94 WHIP on the season.
May 1 8:44 PM PT9:44 PM MT10:44 PM CT11:44 PM ET23:44 ET3:44 GMT11:44 8:44 PM MST10:44 PM EST9:44 PM CST11:14 PM VEN7:44 UAE (+1)10:44 PM CT-Chris Sale allowed two runs - one earned - on five hits and two walks in 7.0 innings as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Kansas City Royals 7-6 on Tuesday. Sale struck out six, ending the game with a 2.14 ERA and 0.98 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 26 7:21 PM PT8:21 PM MT9:21 PM CT10:21 PM ET22:21 ET2:21 GMT10:21 7:21 PM MST9:21 PM EST8:21 PM CST9:51 PM VEN6:21 UAE (+1)9:21 PM CT-Chris Sale improved to 2-1, allowing three runs on four hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 5-4 on Thursday. Sale struck out four, ending the game with a 2.31 ERA and 0.97 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 21 8:26 PM PT9:26 PM MT10:26 PM CT11:26 PM ET23:26 ET3:26 GMT11:26 8:26 PM MST10:26 PM EST9:26 PM CST10:56 PM VEN7:26 UAE (+1)10:26 PM CT-Chris Sale fell to 1-1, allowing three runs on six hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Oakland Athletics 3-0 on Saturday. Sale struck out 10, ending the game with a 1.86 ERA and 0.97 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 15 1:03 PM PT2:03 PM MT3:03 PM CT4:03 PM ET16:03 ET20:03 GMT4:03 1:03 PM MST3:03 PM EST2:03 PM CST3:33 PM VEN0:03 UAE (+1)3:03 PM CT-Chris Sale allowed one run on two hits and two walks in 5.0 innings as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Baltimore Orioles 3-1 on Sunday. Sale struck out eight, ending the game with a 1.23 ERA and 0.95 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 10 7:26 PM PT8:26 PM MT9:26 PM CT10:26 PM ET22:26 ET2:26 GMT10:26 7:26 PM MST9:26 PM EST8:26 PM CST9:56 PM VEN6:26 UAE (+1)9:26 PM CT-Chris Sale improved to 1-0, allowing one run on eight hits in 6.0 innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the New York Yankees 14-1 on Tuesday. Sale struck out eight, ending the game with a 1.06 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 3 7:40 PM PT8:40 PM MT9:40 PM CT10:40 PM ET22:40 ET2:40 GMT10:40 7:40 PM MST9:40 PM EST8:40 PM CST10:10 PM VEN6:40 UAE (+1)9:40 PM CT-Chris Sale allowed one run on five hits in 5.0 innings as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Miami Marlins 4-2 on Tuesday. Sale struck out six, ending the game with a 0.82 ERA and 0.82 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 29 4:03 PM PT5:03 PM MT6:03 PM CT7:03 PM ET19:03 ET23:03 GMT7:03 4:03 PM MST6:03 PM EST5:03 PM CST6:33 PM VEN3:03 UAE (+1)6:03 PM CT-Chris Sale allowed one hit and three walks without giving up a run in 6.0 innings as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 6-4 on Thursday. Sale struck out nine, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.67 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 24 12:13 PM PT1:13 PM MT2:13 PM CT3:13 PM ET15:13 ET19:13 GMT3:13 12:13 PM MST2:13 PM EST1:13 PM CST2:43 PM VEN23:13 UAE1:13 PM CT-On Sunday, manager Alex Cora said Sale would be ready for opening day, on Thursday at the Tampa Bay Rays.
Analysis: Sale exited his final spring start on Saturday after facing just four batters, when he was hit on the left hip by a line drive off the bat of Houston's J.D. Davis. Sale immediately crumpled to the ground, but walked off the field on his own power.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2010 CWS 2 1 4 - 4 21 0 0 23.1 15 5 5 2 10 0 32 1.07 1.93
2011 CWS 2 2 8 - 10 58 0 0 71.0 52 22 22 6 27 3 79 1.11 2.79
2012 CWS 17 8 0 - 1 30 29 1 192.0 167 66 65 19 51 5 192 1.14 3.05
2013 CWS 11 14 0 - 0 30 30 4 214.1 184 81 73 23 46 2 226 1.07 3.07
2014 CWS 12 4 0 - 0 26 26 2 174.0 129 48 42 13 39 2 208 0.97 2.17
2015 CWS 13 11 0 - 0 31 31 1 208.2 185 88 79 23 42 0 274 1.09 3.41
2016 CWS 17 10 0 - 0 32 32 6 226.2 190 88 84 27 45 2 233 1.04 3.34
2017 Bos 17 8 0 - 0 32 32 1 214.1 165 73 69 24 43 0 308 0.97 2.90
2018 Bos 6 4 0 - 0 16 16 0 102.0 69 33 31 10 27 0 140 0.94 2.74
Career 97 62 12 - 15 276 196 15 1426.1 1156 504 470 147 330 14 1692 1.04 2.97

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2012 CWS 30 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2014 CWS 26 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2015 CWS 31 9 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .111 .111 .111
2016 CWS 32 6 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .167 .167 .167
2017 Bos 32 3 0 1 1 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .333 .333 .667
2018 Bos 16 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 276 25 1 3 1 0 0 0 0 13 0 0 .120 .120 .160

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2017 Bos Total 0 2 0 - 0 2 1 0 9.2 13 9 9 4 1 0 12 8.38
    LDS 0 2 0 - 0 2 1 0 9.2 13 9 9 4 1 0 12 8.38
Career 0 2 0 - 0 2 1 0 9.2 13 9 9 4 1 0 12 8.38


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 835 100 86 94 51.48
Slider 525 84 73 79.6 32.37
Changeup 262 91 83 87 16.15

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2018 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.

Partner of USATODAY Sports Digital Properties